fashion

Parka or Anorak?

I have always wondered who the hell created this beautiful, efficient and stylish piece of clothing that has been worn by people from all over the world. I did some research myself about the amazing PARKA, and I really can’t believe on what I see. So parka, or it was originally called Anorak,  is a type of heavy jacket with a hood, often lined with fur inside, so as to protect the face from a combination of freezing temperatures and wind (Wikipedia). It was originally made by the Eskimo (Inuit) from the Arctic region who needed clothing to protect them from wind and snow, but also to keep them dry while fishing and kayaking. That’s why Anorak is mostly water-resistant.

However, parka and anorak have different types of garment. Parka, usually are made with green cotton-nylon, and stuffed with wool blanket material until replaced by polyester wadding, making the piece both lighter and warmer. Long story short, parka was very popular when it was introduced to the US Army for the air force, commonly known as the ‘snorkel parka’. And during the 1970s and 1980s in the UK, it was popular as the ‘school jacket’ for young boys. Until up to 2004, parka became a main-stream fashion jacket once more becoming particularly popular in the indie scene and with now middle-aged people recapturing memories of their school snorkel parkas (lol).

So there goes the story. I must admit that I have always been in love with parka since I moved to Australia. I have a very weak tolerance to cold weather and must wear something really really warm in order to keep me productive. I guess the trend will never fade away. Probably this is just a part of my crazy assumption, but to be honest, parka is one of my favorite pieces in my drawer. I don’t know how to survive during winter here in Europe without a parka.

Enfin, I’ll show you my favorite parkas so far. Enjoy!

Pull & Bear S/S 2013 

Zara Leather Sleeves Parka

Burberry Classic Parka

Leather & Canvas Parka by Alexander Wang

One is not enough! xo

Leave a Reply

