letters

Haruki Murakami

So I bought one of my firsts novel, it’s called, “Norwegian Wood” by Haruki Murakami. Not only I was interested with the title which taken from one of my favorite songs of all time by The Beatles, the cover itself looked just like Japanese flag. Then I just took it from the shelf and brought it to the counter. Voila, its mine now.

I started reading and I couldn’t keep my hands off that book and keep on reading. It was the best novel I’ve read and I instantly fell in love with the author. He has a quite quirky perspective on how he seized things and he captured the art of living with his mesmerizing orders of words. I was immersed in his writing and I wonder if every human being think they way Haruki thinks, this world should be the happiest place on earth.

Here’s some quotes that I love from him:

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” – Norwegian Wood

“No matter what they wish for, no matter how far they go, people can never be anything but themselves. That’s all.” – Blind Willow

“Of course it hurt that we could never love each other in a physical way. We would have been far more happy if we had. But that was like the tides, the change of seasons–something immutable, an immovable destiny we could never alter. No matter how cleverly we might shelter it, our delicate friendship wasn’t going to last forever. We were bound to reach a dead end. That was painfully clear.” – Sputnik Sweetheart

“In dreams you don’t need to make any distinctions between things. Not at all. Boundaries don’t exist. So in dreams there are hardly ever collisions. Even if there are, they don’t hurt. Reality is different. Reality bites. Reality, reality.” – Sputnik Sweetheart

Go to your nearest bookstore and look for any of Murakami’s work. Its worth the time you’re killing when you read it.

Leave a Reply

